How is the President of India Elected?

Indian Presidential Election 2022 will be held on July 18, 2022. This has been announced by the Election Commission of India. Check how the President of India is elected?

How is the President of India Elected?
How is the President of India Elected?


The Presidential election of India will be held on 18th July 2022 and the counting would be done on July 21, 2022. A total of 4,809 electors will be voting in the Presidential elections in 2022.

No political party could issue a whip to its members, said the Election Commission. Do you know how the elections of the President of India are held? Take a look at the full process below.

As per the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act 1952, the Election Commission issues a notification calling the elections on or after the 60th day before the expiry of the term of the current President.

How is the President of India Elected?

The President of India is elected through a more complex process than the members of the Lok Sabha or the Prime Minister.

The Indian President is elected by the members of an electoral college which consists of the elected members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha along with the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the states including UTs Delhi and Puducherry.

The nominated members to either the House of Parliament or the Legislative Assemblies are not eligible in the electoral college and cannot vote.

So, an electoral college consists of 543 members of the Lok Sabha, 233 members of Rajya Sabha, and a total of 4120 members of the Legislative Assemblies. This makes a total of 4896 voters.

What is the electoral formula?

This time the Election Commission has stated that “The value of the vote of an MP will be 700. Those in preventive detention can vote and those in prison will have to apply for parole and if they get parole, they can vote.”

The elector this year will have to mark preferences against the names of the candidates, only with a specific pen, provided by the designated official, informed by the Election Commission.

So, the value of vote this year for very MP is foxed at 700 and for the states, the value of MLAs differs because of the varying strengths of the Legislative Assemblies and the population of the corresponding states.

There is also a formula that is used to stipulate equality in the scale of representation of different states in the election process.

The Formula Is

The total population of the state (as per 1971 census) / Total number of elective seats in Legislative Assembly x 1000= Value of votes of members of Electoral College (MLAs)

Indian Presidential Elections: How is voting done?

The presidential electoral voting pattern is based on a system of proportional representation by means of a single transferable vote. There is no election symbol on the ballot paper. Rather than that, there are two columns. The first column is the name of the candidates and the second has the order of preference.

The member of the electoral college marks its preference against each candidate and the votes are then counted. They do not abstain from voting and there is no ballot paper that can be canceled on the grounds of any proper mark of preferences.

India has had 14 presidents based on this mechanism and process of elections. We are now waiting for the 15th President of India to take his oath. Wait for July to get the final result. Till then take a look at the table beneath denoting all the Presidents of India and their tenure.


No. Name Tenure
1 Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 – 13 May 1962
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 – 13 May 1967
3 Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
VV Giri (Acting President) 3 May 1969 – 20 July 1969
Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President) 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969
4 V.V Giri 24 August 1969 – 24 August 1974
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 – 11 February 1977
Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting President) 11 February 1977 – 25 July 1977
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 – 25 July 1982
7 Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 – 25 July 1987
8 R Venkataraman 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 – 25 July 1997
10 K R Narayanan 25 July 1997 – 25 July 2002
11 APJ Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 – 25 July 2007
12 Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 – 25 July 2012
13 Pranab Mukherjee 25 July – 25 July 2017
14 Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 – Incumbent

Related Posts

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.